The Mighty Ducks

The opening scene is an introduction/flashback to Gordon’s days as a Hawk, the announcer is kind of mean. Interestingly, he’s the same announcer when Gordon is a coach. The chase scene reminds me of Home Alone. When the kids are in the hockey shop, Charlie spills the whole rack of hockey sticks. I wonder if this was scripted or it happened and they just went with it. I think I found my first easter egg of mention of another Disney movie/character. After Gordon announces that they are named the Ducks because they have a sponsor. Aberman says “Who’s the sponsor? Donald and Daisy?” Gordon’s relationship with Charlie and his mom is super cringy. It is very inappropriate for Gordon to ask Charlie where his dad is and what kinds of guys his mom dates. I had never noticed before that Gordon’s driver videotapes some of the games. I love that the driver stays on after Gordon is fired by Ducksworth since the firm was paying for him to have a driver. How did the entire team end up in the same science class? Gordon was assigned 500 hours of community service. How did he finish that before the season was over? While I was watching, I went to see who was still acting (besides Emilio Estevez and Joshua Jackson). I highly recommend googling Aaron Schwartz. He played Dave Karp, the pudgy kid who takes a puck to the head. He has a serious glow-up.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started