Hocus Pocus

I watch this movie pretty much every Halloween so I don’t expect to notice too many new things in this one. I find it interesting that when this movie was originally released in July. Whose bright idea was that? Why wouldn’t you release it closer to Halloween? If you haven’t watched this in a while, you may not realize that Thachary Binx is played by the same actor who plays Tim McGee on NCIS. I know they had shoes in the 1600’s. Why was he trying to run through the forest barefoot? Maybe if he had shoes on, he would have caught Emily in time and saved her from being killed. When the movie is played on TV, the phone number that Max gives to Allison is blurred out. However, it wasn’t blurred out on Disney+. I wonder what the difference is. The Easter Eggs I found in this movie was Dani referencing Peter Pan and Wendy as future Halloween costumes and while the kids are out Trick-or-Treating there is a kid dressed as Mrs. Potts from Beauty and the Beast. I find it entertaining that the girls that stole the Sanderson sisters’ brooms were dressed up like the Sandersons. Do small towns really throw huge Halloween parties with a band? Is Salem even that small of a town? The song “I Put a Spell on You” came out in the 1960s. The witches were still dead then. How do they know the words to the song? It seems unsanitary to keep a lobster tank in an alley. I laughed at the school being referenced as a “prison for children.” Dani and Allison dance in a grassy area with a fountain after they think they’ve killed the witches. This looks a lot like the area when the Friends opening credits take place.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started